The LIST, bucket or otherwise

I’m following an inspiring writer, Lesley Carter, on WordPress called Bucket List Publications, and she shares the many pursuits and dreams that she has and is still working toward. How ambitious!  I try to put pen to paper and set my own list…. the last time I made a real effort was with my last lover, and those were mutual goals. The ones we would do together, travel, possibly adopt a child, take a cooking class, learn sign language, and the like.  I have always made lists, lists for work, lists for chores, lists for grocery needs, list of priorities, life and otherwise.

As I dream now on what will my list include are mostly points of interest that, at least for the near future, are items I will largely do by myself. Grand Canyon, Yellowstone, Mt. Rushmore, climb a 14’er or two, hot springs, visit a football playoff game, visit Europe, etc. Being alone now all these goals just lose their pizzazz.  I know that I need to be comfortable with my own skin, I am, I just think its more fun to enjoy life with someone.

What I won’t do, is wait for that special someone, like I was doing before. Waiting to visit, to see, to experience because the “family” would want to see it too. Now, when opportunity knocks, not only will I answer the door, I’ll walk right on through! When that special someone enters my life, then we will have new journeys to experience together.

Leave a Reply

