Matchmaker, matchmaker, make me match….

I haven’t thought about it until recently that we are surrounded by matchmakers.  Growing up I would get encouragement from my mom, or friends about who “I should go out with” or who I should see.  I’m trying to think how early that started, and I wonder, does it start earlier for girls than guys. I don’t wonder too hard about it though, these days I’m impressed when someone says they are a matchmaker.

Matchmaker, matchmaker, make me a match, find me a find, catch me a catch, Matchmaker, Matchmaker, look through your book, and make me a perfect match…….

Before all the crazy dating sites of today, there was someone in our corner, who was trying to be our matchmaker before we took it into our own hands.  You know the friends, who had your back and a few that didn’t care, there was always someone in your corner, in your ear, sending you messages, showing you the possibilities.  I rarely relied on those matchmakers, and I tried the online dating scene, never finding the right one, or making the right connection.  All my connections up to this point have been in person, via friends or circumstances. Where I worked, worshiped, partied, social settings, community events.

I’m sure there are plenty of stories of how the modern-day matchmaker has worked, the online success, the stories, bachelor and bachelorette, etc.   Someone I met at  a holiday party has become my “matchmaker”.  She’s a married friend with a nice family, who works in an environment where she has met plenty of single men and ladies.  I’m honored actually that she would think of me, being relatively new to the state, but I have enjoyed meeting the ladies she has introduced me too. It’s all about the connection, interest, and attraction.

I’m still living this amazing life, trying to make the most of what I have been given, in some cases a 2nd chance at love again.  Matchmaker, matchmaker, make me a match.

Leave a Reply

