A personal inventory

When do we take the time to do a personal inventory. That inventory of what direction is my life going, am I satisfied with where I am presently or is there something missing?

My life, does it have purpose, meaning. What will my legacy be. What are my proudest moments and what are the saddest moments from which I have learned from?

I have lots of experiences that ended painfully. Failed marriages, not creating a family that I could call my own. Not having children. Not being better prepared for my retirement. Not taking better care of myself, physically, mentally, and emotionally.

These are the things that I have been thinking about recently. That I still have time to change my personal direction is a blessing. That God is with me, is even more critical in my way of looking at my life. My journey has been incredible and sure there are things that I wish would have been different, but God knew every step that I would take. My journey has been incredible and quite the adventure. The best is yet to come.

As odd as it seems I even thought about the kind of information that I should prepare for emergencies. You know, the crisis kit. The information for emergencies. Who is my Dr.? What’s his phone number, where are my extra keys to my car, home. Where is my PO Box location and spare key. What are the passwords to my online accts, etc.

What will happen if there is an emergency and I mentally don’t have the ability to remember, who will know what I have and where is it all located. What’s in my apartment. Who are my roommates names and their phone numbers. Since I am single and not connected to anyone, what are the steps I can share and use to protect myself.

In my work, my colleagues just discussed having a procedural process in writing for our events and tasks. That is where I am. We have several events run by people, but what happens if someone leaves, someone quits, someone moves on without having these procedures in place. We have faced these exact issues recently and it’s been a struggle. Because those that know didn’t share all they knew in writing, creating a procedures manual. Perhaps not in defiance but in casual negligent thinking that they would always be around to run these programs and events. Not just a backdating guide, but an inventory and category of steps of what needs to be done.

So this brings me back to my personal inventory and my crisis kit. Jeremiah 29:11, I know the plans I have for you declares The Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, to give you hope and a future.

I have a great future before me! I have responsibilities though of setting up what my personal plans and procedures in writing. What have I written down? What will I be doing next? Honestly what I have determined to do I have in my head but have not written it down lately.

This is what I need to do. I need to put this down for my own good and to help me, help others, when I may not be able to help myself. This isn’t just about me, though it may seem like it, this is about my family and a way to communicate with them when I may not be able to do so. I have a written will and that’s important, even though I don’t have a spouse or children, but this is about the fundamental, practical pieces of information should something tragically happen to me.

This isn’t a prophecy of what is to come, this is a realization of what I have seen in the world recently, tragic death, accidents, the passing of a loved one. Were they prepared for that? I don’t know. I have traveled a lot recently, but have not left many details. It’s like the hikers and campers that are supposed to leave trip details of trails and points they will be at, or the pilot that leaves a travel plan. What plans/ details have you left?

What direction will I go and what have I left or communicated with my close family or friends on what happens next? As of this moment not much but it is up to me to change that.

Leave a Reply

