My Goliath

I didn’t know what to expect, it was my first deposition, and I spent the day before prepping for questions I may or may not get. To think of the best way to answer them and that Goliath would be in the room, “to cut my throat” “he wasn’t my friend” and he’s on a mission!

I was in foreign territory for all that I had experienced and I knew this day was coming, I just didn’t know that it would for sure. 4-5 before that dates were set and then canceled and with trepidation I asked “was this date still on, still taking place?”. I was assured that it was and my atty would be flying to Colorado and be here in person. 

I left the meeting overwhelmed having gone through 100’s of pages of material trying to understand the concepts and the new terminology I should be using rather than what I had been saying for most of my life. 

As I left, I was deflated, upset, tears welling up in my eyes, as I left my meeting with the atty. I was in a fog about what was before me. I had plans to see out of town relatives but the crazy traffic on I-25 only exacerbated how I was feeling. I called a few friends, asked for prayer, shared what I could, which wasn’t much. I looked for something to eat. 

I essentially went strait home, posted asking friends for prayers about a situation that I could not describe. I’m grateful to the many friend who responded to the request. What I love about my friends is that most are from varying faith backgrounds, but they believe in the power of prayer. 

I prayed that God would direct my steps, my thoughts, my actual words, that he would comfort me, I needed Him. One of my favorite verses is Prov. 3:5-7. I pray the concepts of this verse over and over again. 

Trust in the LORD with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take. Don’t be impressed with your own wisdom. Instead, fear the LORD and turn away from evil. (‭Proverbs‬ ‭3‬:‭5-7‬ NLT)

I went to be around 8:30, overwhelmed in my spirit but confident God would help me. 

The next morning, the day that I would meet Goliath, I asked for more prayers from friends, posted a request, and actually felt quite calm, a 180 from the night before. I experienced peace from God’s presence, assurance that He was with me. I remembered the important principals for my responses. I entered the room and this is what I saw. 

  
Modern technology would become even more real today. To see other attorneys witnessing this event. Seeing them, hearing them, and they see me. I was in a suit and tie, I expected to be video tapped, I was responding as if the jury were in the room, and yet Goliath was there, in person. 

I have never been deposed before, and for a tall guy like me, 6’5″, I was completely out of my comfort zone and yet completely at peace. 

At the end of the day, which ended early, which had no blow up, which was relatively calm, which went a whole lot better than I expected, was finally done!! Praise God!

I thanked my friends for their prayers, posted my relief, even helped my atty return to the airport. All this to say, God has never left my side, has not forsaken me, and when you upon Him he will answer. He’ll answer through his word, through friends. Through prayer. I’m glad that day is over! I may face this Goliath again, and I know who’ll be with me. 

Leave a Reply

