My Epic trip to Finland chapter 1

I started the idea of this trip in September 2014 when I purchased my ticket Finland. It was a great price on Iceland Air, a radio host I listen to, suggested the best time to purchase European trips. I didn’t have any idea at that time what would actually take place but I decided that I must visit my extended family again and who knows when I would return for a visit. My last visit was in 2009 and I thought that visit was amazing, life changing in many ways, I wasn’t sure if this could top the last visit.

I shared my news with my cousins via e-mail, and kept in regular contact over the fall and no ernest planning until the new year. I am fortunate that I have been able to open lines of communication among my father’s and mother’s  nieces and nephews  and stayed in regular contact with them.

On this trip I decided to do something different, add a new country to my itinerary. After consultation with a few relatives, I decided on Krakow, Poland.  The highlight of this trip will be the visit to Auschwitz- Birkenau Concentration camp and the Wieliczka Salt Mine.  Both significant and historical on their own. I  have always been interested in this aspect of WW2. 

So I departed Denver, CO and had a direct flight to Iceland. From  Iceland it was a short flight to Finland. One of the amazing components to this flight segment was that my cousin Anita would be on board the same flight.  We used our charm to get close seats and then eventually, sit next to each other.

After traveling for more than 10 hours, I pushed through the night with walking, laughing, drinking and seeing the sights of Helsinki.  We spent part of our night enjoying live music and dancing to a few tunes. 

I was exhausted, I just didnt know that I would sleep t 10 hours.

I have a great host family and they have made sure that I am well  fed and taken care of.

The next stop today will be leaving for  Poland .   
    
    
 

Leave a Reply

